Waiting for Rebirth

It’s QueerBlogWed! Time to post about something queer…Christopher definitely qualifies as he continues to explore his new existence in ‘Waiting for Rebirth’. He’s just met himself in Damian’s painting, only to be awed by what he sees. Alas, others aren’t nearly as impressed by Damian’s depiction of the boy he drew from the shadows…

Damian’s prediction turned out to be only too true. Duessa detested ‘Waiting for Rebirth’ as soon as she set eyes on it. All eight of them narrowed in disgust.

“It has no definition, no shapes!” She glared at the finished portrait, wagging four of her index fingers accusingly at the exquisite panaroma. “You can’t even see Christopher’s face in this mess of color!”

“I have to agree,” Gabrielle said, after studying the play of colors with a frown. “There’s nothing resembling a person in this, let alone Christopher.”

“That’s because it’s not supposed to be the shape I wearing,” I explained, or tried to. “It’s the sky I’m seeing, how it’s becoming a part of me, as I look at it.”

All I got were blank, uncomprehending looks at this statement.

“I really don’t understand how you can see that in what’s on the canvas,” Juno said, examining the painting with a shake of her head. “It’s not exactly unattractive, but it makes no sense.”

No one felt the same way about Damian’s painting as I did. Not even Damian himself seemed to care as much.

“It’s not like I expect anyone to understand it,” he’d explain, as he leaned against the Navel’s counter. The painting hung in a clear space, right next to the mirror. “What I’m hoping for is some kind of clarity for myself.”

“You mean, you expect a Door to open in the painting?” Of this I was skeptical. “You need a lot of magic to open a Door.”

“Which is why I chose a magical spot in which to create a Door,” Damian explained. “This painting should bring some of its magic into this place.”

I wasn’t sure if this was a good idea. If the Navel was Gabrielle’s Place of Power, she could very well object to this.

At first, she didn’t. Gabrielle stiffened at the sight of ‘Waiting for Rebirth’ on her wall, but she said nothing. For all her scary power, Gabrielle avoided conflict. This was why she tried hard to get along with everyone, even difficult women like Duessa and Juno.

 

Leave a comment