Unwilling to Be Yours

It’s Me Me Monday! A day to promote, celebrate, and strut your Me-ness!

Only no one in the Navel feels much like celebrating right now. Gabrielle and Christopher both try to answer Peter’s question from Saturday. A impossible task, since they’re not sure of the answer themselves.

 

There was a moment of utter silence.

Gabrielle gazed at Christopher with an almost childlike helplessness.

I didn’t like seeing my cheerful, boisterous employer like this.

However, I liked the look on Christopher’s face even less.

His eyes were wide, moist, and frighteningly blank. He wasn’t seeing Gabrielle, nor anything else which I could.

“I don’t know.” The heartbroken defeat in his voice made me want to cry. “Perhaps he channeled his wish into the painting. He was trying to create a Door to the Shadow Forest.”

“The Shadow Forest?” I’d heard such titles before for various, sinister woodlands, trying to be scary and impressive.

Sometimes they truly were.

“What’s that?” I was liking Damian less and less for trying to open a Door to this place.

Especially in the middle of ‘Brie’s place.

“What lies beyond the Door. A place most only visit in their dreams. Anything you can imagine.” Gabrielle shrugged, as if none of these things impressed her much. “Take your pick.”

“It’s anything that lies on the other side of a Door,” Christopher frowned, a wrinkle appearing between slender eyebrows. “It’s where fantasy is born. I’m surprised you haven’t heard of it.”

“Perhaps I have,” I said, choosing my words with care. “I didn’t call it the Shadow Forest, though.”

I wasn’t going to say what I did call it. Names have power.

 

To Be Continued Wednesday, QueerBlogWed.

Unwilling to Be Yours is the second prelude to my unpublished book, Stealing Myself From Shadows.

The first prelude was Waiting for Rebirth.

The third will be Be My Valentine…Snack.

Stealing Myself From Shadows is the first book in my Tales of the Navel/The Shadow Forest series. It’s an ambient fantasy series of self discovery, based off Tarot card imagery.

Stealing Myself From Shadows is currently under revision, along with The Hand and the Eye of the Tower (Book 2) and A Godling for Your Thoughts? (Book 3)

 

Leave a Reply

