Unwilling to Be Yours

It’s QueerBlogWed! A day to blog about all things queer. Peter and the Navel qualify in more ways than one. 🙂 They’re going to pick up right where they left off on Monday in Unwilling to Be Yours.

Unwilling to Be Yours is the second prelude to Stealing Myself From Shadows, my novel under revision. Stealing Myself From Shadows is the first book in my Tales of the Navel/The Shadow Forest series.

“Your heart belongs to another. I understand, but I refuse to give up so easily.” I gave him a cheerful smile, meant to reassure him that my comment had been nothing, but a joke.

If only I could convince myself of that as well.

Stop ogling the boss’s son, I told that self. Concentrate on the boss instead.

“After all, I am here to fill a vacancy.” I made another slight bow in Gabrielle’s direction. “I shall endeavor to do so, in every way.”

Gabrielle’s smile faltered at my words.

All right, that has been the wrong thing to say.

“You’ll fail.” Christopher spoke with a bleakness which was worse than anger. “No one can replace Damian. Not ever.”

“That remains to be seen.” Gabrielle gentled the severity of her statement by using a much softer voice. “Someone has to replace him in the store, for at least a little while.”

She locked her blue eyes with mine.

Something darker and older seemed to slither behind them, assessing everything about me.

It was an effort not to shudder.

There was more to Gabrielle than the cheerful, goofy exterior she’d presented.

Not that I hadn’t guessed that. The energies moving around the shop were proof that the proprietor of the Navel was more than she appeared.

Something told me I’d have to take care around Christopher, even if she was amused by my flirting. The order to keep my lips off of her son hadn’t been entirely said in jest.

Gabrielle nodded her head slightly, allowing a tiny smile to play across her lips.

I got the impression she’d guessed what I was thinking.

 

One thought on “Unwilling to Be Yours

  1. Peter: (trying not to tremble) This is my potential boss?

    Oh, come on. You like a challenge.

    Gabrielle: Don’t worry. I don’t bite…much.

    Peter: (bravely tries to smile, shaking while he does)

    Like

Leave a Reply

