Waiting for Rebirth

Welcome to Me Me Monday! A day to celebrate, strut, and promote your Me-ness! Only Christopher and Gabrielle aren’t feeling much like celebrating. Not after what happened in the last part of ‘Waiting for Rebirth’. Picking up right where we left them on Saturday…

“We must cover that thing up!” Gabrielle hissed. “I never should have let Damian hang it in the Navel, never!” She strode forward, hands clawed, as if she meant to rip the painting to shreds.

“No!” I seized her arm.

She stopped, stared at me in disbelief.

“If we cover the painting up, Damian will never be able to get back!” My voice was a lot less convincing without the power of the Shadow Forest behind it.

“He’s not coming back.” Gabrielle stared at the painting in grim silence. However, she made no attempt to cover it up.

“Yes, he will.” I glanced down at my feet, willing my words to be true. “He used me to create a Door.” I glanced up at the colors, the magical, surreal creature who slipped in and out them. “I’ll use myself to reopen it and call him back.”

“It’ll take time,” Gabrielle warned me. “It means you’ll have to wait for him. Watch the painting and wait for a sign.”

“I can do that.” I swallowed any uncertainty which welled up in my stomach. “If necessary, I’ll wait forever for the Door to re-open.”
“Not a healthy thing to do.” Gabrielle shook her head. “Damian gave you life. We shared ours with you.” She flexed her fingers, trying to release the spasming emotion which quivered through them. “Don’t waste that life waiting.”

“I would have that life if not for him.” I searched for the glimmer of Damian in the white dabs. They’d grown dull and gray. “I’m not giving up on him.”

Gabrielle sighed, but she didn’t argue.

One thought on “Waiting for Rebirth

  1. Almost at the end…

    Christopher: (heaves a huge sigh) You’re not leaving me like this.

    Shh, there’s another prelude after this, Unwilling to Be Yours. Besides we haven’t reached the end yet. We’re simply almost there.

    Christopher: (sighs again)

    Like

Leave a Reply

