Waiting for Rebirth

It’s #QueerBlogWed! Time for Christopher to take the next step of his journey in his new existence. He’s doing just that in the next part of ‘Waiting for Rebirth’, prelude to my ‘Tales of the Navel/The Shadow Forest’ series.

“Welcome to the Navel, center of everything bizarre!” It was the greeting Gabrielle often greeted customers with. Her phrase was more than a catchy play on words. I was certain of it. Perhaps I’d learn more if I spent more time within the shop’s walls. I was certainly willing to. Perhaps I could take some of the burden from Damian, who couldn’t wait to leave the shop everything afternoon.

“All in good time,” Damian said, when I suggested this to him on one of our jaunts out to the garden. “You’re preparing to do exactly that, but there’s no need to rush it.”

No need at all. It was only too easy to lose track of time, especially when I was alone with Damian. It was only too easy to stand still, looking at the sky, allowing my thoughts to wander with delicious freedom. To listen to the sound of Damian’s brush, dancing step by step across the canvas.

It would be only too easy to let his nearness possess me. It already made my flesh tingle and my ears prickle. Pixies seemed to dance upon my arms, making the tiny golden hairs upon them stand up and sing. Only pixies appeared. It was only Damian, silent, filling the air with his presence, stroking my awareness of him. The only way to stay still was to look up at the sky. It calmed me, centered me.

Eventually, Damian would call me back, let me know he was finished for the day. I’d blink, drawn out of my trance, which the spell of his brush had cast upon me. I’d feel his hand on my shoulder and tremble. His slightest touch was almost too much to bear.

The only thing worse was looking at the painting. Nothing made me feel more flushed than seeing the boy emerging from Damian’s hand and my moments of quiet.

Leave a Reply

