Waiting for Rebirth

Welcome to ‘Me Me Monday’! ‘Tis a day to strut, promote, and celebrate one’s Me-ness! It’s also time for Christopher to return to the Navel and ‘Waiting for Rebirth’, my prelude to ‘Tales of the Navel/The Shadow Forest’.

Christopher picks up right where he left off with Juno on Saturday…

The usual payment, ‘Brie?”

“Of course,” Gabrielle said. She smiled at me, the corners of her mouth uplifting.

I carried the tin over to Juno, a strange warmth stroking my cheeks, face, and neck. Gabrielle had brought a little of the sun in the Navel with her smile.

Juno accepted it, brushing her hands against my fingers as she did. I didn’t shiver. It was impossible to do so. Not while I was protected by my new mother’s approval.

“Such a dear boy,” Juno said. She hugged the tin to her ample bosom. “Don’t let just anybody have him, ‘Brie.”

She half walked, half bounced her way out of the store.

“What was all that about?” I asked, once the door chimes jingled behind her, announcing our customer’s departure.

“That was Juno,” Gabrielle said. She released a breath I hadn’t realized she’d been holding. “Be careful around her. She’s much more dangerous than she seems.” My new mother cocked her head towards me. “Although you handled her very well.”

“That’s enough of the Navel for one day, don’t you think?” I jumped when Damian lay his hand on my shoulder. I hadn’t even realized he was standing there. “Time for a bit of fresh air.”

“Yes, it is,” Gabrielle said, not seeming surprised at all at Damian’s sudden appearance. “Don’t make him pose for too long, Damian.”

Damian lowered his eyelashes in an almost coy way while his lower lip curled. His hand claimed mine, gently tugging me towards the door.

Leave a Reply

