Waiting for Rebirth

Welcome to Rainbow Snippets! Every Saturday, six sentences of GLBTQ+ fiction are posted and shared. It can be your own. It can be someone else’s. It just needs to be GLBTQ+

To read a wide variety of samples from GLBTQ+ stories, go here https://www.facebook.com/groups/RainbowSnippets/?ref=group_cover

If I don’t finish ‘Waiting for Rebirth’ by April, there may be a pause in the story. This Cauldron is taking part in the ‘Blogging From A-Z  April Challenge’. Characters from ‘Waiting for Rebirth’ will be popping up in ‘C is for Christopher’, ‘D is for Damian’, and ‘G is for Gabrielle’ during the challenge. However, a lot of other characters from other stories will show up, too. On Tuesday, March 28, 2017, I’ll post an introduction for ‘Blogging from A-Z: Character Snippets’. My characters will let you know exactly what they have planned. (Did they really think I hadn’t noticed they’ve taken over this blog? :))  Sunday will be the only free day in the week during the A-Z Challenge. I’m worried about posting more than once a day here, considering what happened to my other Cauldron. Don’t worry, though. Both of my blogs will see plenty of action in April, believe me. If ‘Waiting for Rebirth’ isn’t finished by the end of March, it will appear three times in April, only to return to its usual scheduled appearances on Monday, Wednesday, and Saturday in May.

Here is the next part of ‘Waiting for Rebirth’, right where it left off on Wednesday.

Damian paused next to the rose which shared the same hue as his irises. He reached out to touch a petal with a trembling finger. The flower seemed to shudder at his touch.

I tried not to shudder myself when I walked through the gate into the garden to stand by Damian’s side. I reached out for his hand.

The rose turned black when my fingers neared it. The flower began to wither on the vine.

 

 

16 thoughts on “Waiting for Rebirth

  1. Thank you! Blogging from A-Z is a challenge to blog every day, Monday to Saturday in April about some sort of a theme beginning with A and ending with Z. Last year, I chose ‘My Characters Have the Last Word’ as mine. I began with ‘A is Amberwyne’ and ended with ‘Z is for Zenobia’, letting my characters talk about themselves, their origins, and complain about how little attention they got from me. 🙂 This year, I’m doing ‘Character Snippets’, which was inspired by Rainbow Snippets. I’m starting with ‘A is Ariadne’ (who was Amberwyne last year, but I had one Amberwyne too many, so one of them got a name change :)). Ariadne will introduce herself and appear with six sentence (more or less) snippet from ‘Trouble at Caerac Keep’ (the Work in Progress she’s in) on April 1st. ‘B is for Byron’ will follow on Monday, April 3rd to introduce himself, along with a snippet from ‘On the Other Side of the Mask’. And so on, until we get to ‘Z is for Zenobia’. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

