Waiting for Rebirth

Welcome to Me Me Me Monday! A day to celebrate, post, and share your me-ness! This Cauldron will do so by sharing the next part of ‘Waiting for Rebirth’, prelude to ‘Tales of the Navel/The Shadow Forest’. We pick up right where we left off on Saturday with Christopher confronting Damian’s sinister Aunt Duessa within the Navel.

I stared her arms stretching out from her shoulder and waist. Magic. Having hands would help her cast magic. Someone had told me this, although I couldn’t remember who. I forced myself to look away from those eight appendages, which made me think of a spider.

The scars on Duessa’s face were shifting only they weren’t scars. They were eyes. One pair opened, to reveal ordinary brown eyes. A third and a fourth fluttered their eyelashes, offering up teasing glimpses of irises as rose purple as Damian’s. The fifth and sixth blinked with a flash of red gold. The seventh opened an eye with neither white, nor pupil. I stared, when the eighth eye opened as well. The last two were red as blood.

“Do I frighten you, pretty one? If you’re clever enough to be frightened, perhaps you’re clever enough to be ‘Brie’s boy,” she chuckled. She withdrew her tongue behind her lips, showing a hint of teeth which were way too pointed. “It’s truly a pity, meeting in this time and place. I would love to devour you.”

I had the strangest impression that her words were a compliment, frightening though they were.

“Thank you,” I said, trying to keep my voice from shaking. My own hands reached up to clasp Damian’s. “However, I am spoken for, madam.”

Damian’s hands stopped trembling, as if he’d been shocked out of his fear. I was fairly taken aback by my own boldness. Had I actually just claimed Damian as mine, in front of his spiderish aunt?

Well, he had offered me his hand.

Leave a Reply

