Waiting for Rebirth

Welcome to #QueerBlogWed! I’ve got a little more Damian/Christopher and ‘Waiting for Rebirth’. We pick up right where we left off with the boys facing Damian’s sinister aunt, Duessa Ashelocke.

“Gabrielle’s son?” She filled the question with with predatory attentiveness, while she took another couple of steps towards me. If one could call them steps. I couldn’t see her feet, only hear the rustling hiss of her movement across the floor.

The stranger stepped out the darkness to reveal a face with the same high cheekbones as Damian’s. Tiny delicate scars puckered across each cheek. The lady wore a black waistcoat over her skirts with a reddish brown cravat tied in an elaborate bow. Her clothes brought out the crimson in her wavy auburn hair. The bulk of her tresses were pinned up, yet managed to escape in careful ringlets. Something about her torso, her arms sent shivers down my spine. I found my eyes darting away from them, focusing upon her face rather than her form.

I was guessing this was Aunt Duessa. Resemblance aside, she was someone who would dress her nephew up in ruffles and tight collars. Why not, considering how uncomfortable her own clothing appeared.

She smiled, parting lips far too bloody and wet. A shudder ran through my entire frame. A pink tongue darted out from her mouth to caress her own lips. Suggestively. Invitingly.

She took another slow step forward, never taking her eyes off me. I swallowed and fought an urge to step back. I felt a shudder, twin to my own, run through Damian’s fingers, although he never moved. He was just as frightened as I was of this woman. Perhaps more so.

Leave a Reply

