Waiting for Rebirth

It’s Me Me Me Monday! A day to celebrate, strut, and promote one’s me-ness! I’m celebrating by posting more Damian/Christopher and ‘Waiting for Rebirth’ here. If you enjoy these posts, keep an eye out for more ‘Tales of the Navel/The Shadow Forest’! I’ve got three novels and two more stories in this series I’m polishing up for publication; ‘The Hand and the Eye of the Tower’, ‘Stealing Myself From Shadows’, ‘A Godling for Your Thoughts?’, ‘Unwilling to Be Yours’, and ‘Be My Valentine…Snack’.

“This doesn’t seem right,” I murmured, staring at the boy, who could have been a girl. Yes, I vaguely remembered the boy in the mirror, but I also remembered a girl who grinned, whenever she pushed wisps of fly away fair hair from her face. Only I was stockier, my hips and thighs struggling to free themselves from the confines of white robes, with pendulous breasts that trapped me in that form. Except I wasn’t confined to that thick form. At other times, I was slender, willowy, with long, spindly fingers which could pick sounds out of the air. My own hair had smelled like moss, while my arms swung with the easy strength of the trees.

“Right or wrong, I’ve never seen a boy more beautiful.” I nearly jumped out of my skin at the sound of the strange voice. A shadow detached itself from behind the mirror. It seemed to glide towards me, taking the form of a tall woman with long, billowing skirts. There was something wrong with her shadow, something about her upper body. “Such beauty makes me want to devour it.”

“Except you won’t devour Gabrielle’s son,” Damian said. He moved behind me to place his hands upon my shoulders. I could feel his fingers tremble, as he touched me. “Not here, in her Place of Power.”

Leave a Reply

