Waiting for Rebirth

It’s QueerBlogWed! Here’s the next part of ‘Waiting for Rebirth’, my prelude to ‘Tales of the Navel/The Shadow Forest’. Damian and Christopher continue their story, right where they left off on Monday.

I blinked, as the darkness of the store overwhelmed me. For a moment, I thought it would swallow me, but I wasn’t in the Shadow Forest any more. My eyes were simply adjusting to stepping out of the sunshine.

Damian touched my shoulder, guiding me away from a shelf I’d almost walked into. His fair skin still gleamed, even in natural darkness. I could see the chimes, dangling near the doorway. It was just one more trinket among the jumble of trinkets popping out of the shelves. Anything from dolls, crystals, decks of cards, wooden boxes, ceramic chickens, and metal statues lunged at me, bewildering my eye.

Unsure of how to deal with this bewildering reality, I did what I always did in the Shadow Forest. I sought a path. There were narrow and open spaces, leading between the shelves. One was in front of a counter. The other was in front of a full length mirror.

“There it is, as promised,” Damian murmured. There was a melodic certainty to his words, commanding attention. “Take a look.”

Reluctantly, I detached myself from his hand to move towards the mirror. Clutter stuck out from the shelves, requiring care in walking past them. Fortunately, I was, indeed, small and slender, as Damian had claimed.

Leave a Reply

