Waiting for Rebirth

It’s QueerBlogWed, so here’s another update for Damian/Christopher and ‘Waiting for Rebirth’!

“Oh, how lovely!” Juno cooed, clasping her hands together. “Gabrielle is far too solitary! If she can’t have a husband, why, a child may be the next best thing!”

“Exactly!” Damian said. He beamed at Juno, outshining her completely with his toothy grin. “We’re about to see her right now, if you’ll excuse us?”

“Oh, of course, of course!” Juno couldn’t scramble out of the way fast enough. “Oh, how lovely it was to have met you, Christopher! I look forward to seeing you at the Navel!” She said some other things, as well, but I didn’t hear them, since Damian pulled me away with undue haste.

“Be careful what you say to Juno,” he said in a low voice. “She may seem harmless, but she has a vengeful temper, if she thinks she’s been slighted. Plus, she’s a regular customer of ours.”

“You mean at this shop of yours?” I asked, trying to keep pace with him. I wanted to walk at Damian’s side, but he moved fast. “The Navel?”

“I know, it’s a bit much, considering the town is called ‘Omphalos’.” Damian rolled his eyes, clearly unimpressed. “For Gabrielle, there’s no such thing as too much. She’s my master, so there’s a limit to how much I can point this out.”

“Not to mention my mother,” I said, unable to keep the sarcasm out of my voice. “Even though I suspect she’ll be as surprised by this as I was.”

“Don’t you just love surprises?” Damian flashed me the same smile he’d aimed at Juno. It was hard to withstand its brightness, even if it was false. “Ah! Here we are!”

Leave a Reply

