Waiting for Rebirth

Welcome to ‘Waiting for Rebirth’, the prelude to ‘Tales of the Navel/The Shadow Forest’. I’m posting it in segments on Monday (Me Me Me Monday on Queer Sci Fi), Wednesday (QueerBlogWed), and Saturday (Rainbow Snippets). If you’ve missed part, look at a previous blog. Yes, I’m offering this particular story free, in the hopes that you’ll buy ‘The Hand and the Eye of the Tower’, ‘Stealing Myself From Shadows’, ‘A Godling for Your Thoughts?’ and the rest of ‘Tales of the Navel/The Shadow Forest’ once they’re published.

I’m picking up right where I left off on Saturday (see the previous entry)

His walk was graceful, confident. A few people nodded to him and smiled, as he passed. One plump woman in a floral tunic blushed at the site of him, covering her mouth slightly with a chubby hand.

“Hello, Juno,” Damian said, offering Juno a dazzling smile. It was completely different than the smile he’d given me. Juno giggled in response.

“Oh, Damian, fancy seeing you out in the evening!” she chirped. Bright, sharp green eyes darted to me, taking in every bit of me. “Who’s this?”

“This is Christopher,” Damian said, taking my hand, and drawing me closer. “He’s Gabrielle’s son, well, in a way. She’s adopted him.”

This was all unknown to me, but I didn’t contradict Damian. Something warned me not to say too much in front of this plump, giggling woman. Her jowls wagged too eagerly, in contradiction with the predatory gleam in her eye.

Leave a Reply

