Waiting for Rebirth

It’s QueerBlogWed! I’m going to continue with my prelude to ‘Tales of the Navel/The Shadow Forest’. Here’s a little more Damian/Christopher in ‘Waiting for Rebirth’. I’m picking up right where I left off on Saturday.

“A lot can change in the real world, while you’re lost in the Shadow Forest,” Damian murmured. His hand was resting upon my shoulder. It was an almost possessive gesture. I was both touched and a little alarmed. “This is Omphalos. Perhaps you remember it? It’s a refuge for those who are different, as well as a place to find unusual items.”

Omphalos. The word meant ‘navel’. I wasn’t sure how I knew that. I glanced at the people walking in the street. None of them looked familiar.

“It’s all right,” Damian said, once again. The gentle kindness in his voice was soothing. It would be so easy to trust that voice, but trust had gotten me into trouble before, I was certain of it. Trust led to being stolen by shadows. The problem was I didn’t know enough about where and when I was. I had to trust someone, at least a little, just to find my way around. “The Navel is a shop, a place where people come and go to purchase things. You’ll be safe there.”

Leave a Reply

