Me Me Me Monday

It’s Me Me Me Monday! A day to strut your me-ness in all sorts of ways. It could be a promotion of a recent or old release. It could be a teaser from a work in progress. It just needs to be all about you. No, not you! Me! 🙂

For my own celebration of me-ness, I offer a teaser for a novel I’ve worked for a very long time. It’s been through so many revisions, I’m ready to tear my hair out, but I think I’m finally on the right track. 🙂

This is from the very beginning of ‘The Hand and the Eye of the Tower’, the first book in ‘Tales of the Navel/The Shadow Forest’. The second book was last year’s NaNoWriMo project, ‘Stealing Myself From Shadows’. The third book was this year’s NaNoWriMo project, ‘A Godling for Your Thoughts?’

“I know you’re there. I can feel you. I’m blind and cannot touch without you.” It was a childlike plea, as well as a seductive whisper. Danyell wanted to respond, but didn’t dare. He lay very still, so the voice couldn’t find him.

“I know you’re there.” Something cold and damp was inches from his face. A misty breath kissed his quivering lips. “I can taste you!”

“No!” Danyell cried, trying to squirm away, waking up as he did. Grass prickled his cheek and tickled his nose. He rolled over and looked up, only to squint into the sunshine.

A shadow leaned over him, blocking out the sun. Danyell gasped, as a face exactly like his own loomed overhead.

“There’s no need to be afraid,” Dayell said. His twin was looking down at him. “At least, not of me.”

Leave a Reply

