Saturday Snippet

Welcome to #RainbowSnippets! On Saturdays, six sentences of GLBT fiction are posted. It can be your own. It can be someone else’s. It just needs to be GLBT fiction.

Lately, I’ve been racing to finish ‘Seven Tricks’, a Christmas story inspired by ‘The Nutcracker’. The version I saw in San Jose gave the battle between the Nutcracker and the Mouse King some very interesting overtones, shall we say? I decided to play with that, as well as the original story themes from ‘The Nutcracker and the Mouse King’ to create my own particular tale.  Here’s a sample from ‘Seven Tricks’. Yes, it’s seven sentences long, not six. To make sense, this snippet needed the extra sentence. (bows apologetically)

I’d had a dream of the coming Christmas Eve, but wasn’t of me ascending the throne, oh, no. I’d dreamed of an endless supply of tissue, scattered about the giant shrubbery humans insisted on covering with baubles. Not that the tissue was what I desired, although there was enough to give all of our people’s bedding, saving the king sized portion for myself.

No, what I desired was the exquisite creature standing half in, and half out of one of the giant boxes humans left open on the floor. Wooden was he, with stiff arms and legs, with a bright red coat and a crown sticking out of his head. Never had I seen such an enormous, toothy jaw as he possessed. The scent of roasted nuts wafted from his jaw, making my nostrils flare with hunger.

6 thoughts on “Saturday Snippet

    1. Thank you! I’ll have to wait and see if Mischief Corner Books accepts it, or not first, since it’s currently a WIP. (rueful grin) If they want ‘Seven Tricks’ and becomes part of their Christmas anthology, I’d definitely be interested!

      My first published work was f/f, ‘Fairest’, my own strange mixture of Sleeping Beauty, Snow White, with a dash of Cinderella thrown in for good measure. My second was ‘A Symposium in Space’, inspired by Plato’s classic, only this dinner party was in a decadent, matriarchal future, the dinner guests were all female, and Agathea (the hostess) was literally feeding on everyone’s speeches about love. 🙂 My third work, coming out next year is f/f, ‘At Her Service’, a gender bending Cinderella tale. I’ll admit, I’m sucker for fairy tales, recreating them, or inventing my own. 🙂 I’m a yaoi fangirl, but my absolute favorite anime series are ‘Revolutionary Girl Utena’ and ‘Puella Magi Madoka Magica’. Both are f/f. 🙂 Also did I mention how much I love Sheridan le Fanu’s ‘Carmilla’? :)=

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

