Saturday Snippet

Welcome to #RainbowSnippets! Everyone participating posts six sentences of GLBT fiction. It can be your own. It can be someone else’s. It just needs to be GLBT.

Mine comes from my recent July Camp NaNoWriMo project, which I’m revising for submission. It’s called ‘On the Other Side of the Mask’.

‘On the Other Side of the Mask’

Church wards without family and fortune belong to the clergy of Paradise. Their voices and bodies belong to the Goddess. The only thing they get to choose is their names. Such choices have consequences, though. When Byron and Shelley choose the names of a couple of rebel poets from a lost world, they attract unwanted attention. For a hungry force has been feeding off the faithful of Paradise, draining the will from the rebellious. However, Byron and Shelley are still determined to pursue the spirit of freedom, even when Paradise pursues and cages them.

Shelley had studied Byron’s slender fingers, as he turned over the book rags, examing it. The other boy’s eyes gleamed with an almost hungry light.

The same gleam was in his eyes now, as he lay on his side, staring at Byron. Byron didn’t quite dare look at him directly. He wasn’t sure why.

“Why Byron?” Shelley persisted. “Is it just because he was in the book Mae gave you?”

2 thoughts on “Saturday Snippet

  1. Thank you! I’m glad you’re interested! I submitted a shorter version of this in April to Lethe Press’s ‘Gents’ anthology. It was rejected, accompanied by the nicest rejection note I’ve ever gotten from Matthew Bright, the anthologist. He said he was really conflicted about rejecting it, plus he sent me this note a few days before the deadline. I decided to polish the story up, see if I could fix it, and submitted the story again. I’m still waiting for the results on the second story. This is from the third version, an extended version, which I’m cleaning up for submission right now.

    Like

Leave a comment