Snippet from ‘On the Other Side of the Mask’

Here’s my six sentence contribution to ‘Rainbow Snippets’! It’s from a story I’m working on for Camp NaNoWriMo, as well as a submission. ‘On the Other Side of the Mirror’ takes place in my own pseudo Victorian steampunk city, Paradise. Needless to say, it’s not a very heavenly place. πŸ™‚

Poems can shape the world, just as poets shape it with their thoughts and ideas. Their legacy causes ripples across realities, inspiring the inhabitants of other worlds. Their very names invoke power.

Which was why two, shivering boys brought before the court, before they were consigned to the church’s grasp called upon them. The court warden looked down upon them from his lofty dais, only to scowl upon them.

β€œYour bodies and souls belong to the temple,” she said, as she turned her scowl from their small faces to their tiny, clapsed hands.

27 thoughts on “Snippet from ‘On the Other Side of the Mask’

    1. My reply to this ended up at the top of the page. (rueful grin) Thank you! I’ve already set up ‘A Symposium in Space’ for next Saturday, but I’ll see, if I can grant your wish on Saturday, April 2nd.

      Like

  1. Thank you! Absolutely! This is my chosen 6000 word project for Camp NaNoWriMo, so I’ll be working on it a lot. πŸ™‚ It’s an intended submission, so I can’t post too much from it, but I can certainly post more. Only I can’t do it next week, since I’m posting a snippet from ‘A Symposium in Space’ at inspirationcauldron.blogspot.com on March 26th. I’m going to a possible online black out zone for Easter weekend, so I wanted to make sure I got my snippet set up in advance. πŸ™‚ However, I’ll post another snippet from this on April 2nd. I was inspired by Victorian England, ‘Changeling the Lost’, Algernon Blackwood, Wilkie Collins, Storm Constantine, and my own weirdness in the creation of this world. πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Thank you! More will come Saturday, April 2nd! Due to online difficulties at my Easter weekend location, I’ve already set up my snippet for March 26th, which is from ‘A Symposium in Space’, which is coming out in Torquere’s ‘My Theory of Love’ anthology; May 18, 2016. However, I’ll post more from ‘On the Other Side of the Mask’ on Saturday, April 2nd. πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

