A Snippet from ‘Aissa and Polyxena’

Here’s a snippet from my submission to Lethe’s Press’ ‘Friends of Hyakinthos’, which I submitted January 29, 2016. I’m still waiting to see if it’s been accepted. It’s my own re-interpretation of Achilles’ passion for Troilus. Yes, I had to force the mightiest of the Achaens to behave himself, no easy task. You can hear him bluster Β about it in ‘A is for Achille’ on April 1, 2016, if you like. πŸ™‚ In the meantime, here’s a fragment from Troile’s perspective. For he saw Achille in a dream, before the Trojan war ever got started. Ganymede came to Troile in this dream, to warn another Trojan prince about the doom approaching him, and the lover who might destroy him…

‘β€œLook upon him,” the boy said, even as his eyes dropped to the cup in his hand. β€œLook upon the one, who would steal your life, as well as your heart.”

The ripples smoothed, as a face looked back at me. It wasn’t my reflection, oh, no. Heat rushed to my cheeks, as I met the smouldering blue gaze of the young man captured in the water. Truly, his eyes might burn themselves out of their sockets, as if the passion within the man’s body was too much for it contained. ‘

17 thoughts on “A Snippet from ‘Aissa and Polyxena’

    1. Thank you! I know what you mean. πŸ™‚ I love the ancient myths and legends, but I’m also a bit of Plato fan. I recently submitted another story to Prizm/Torquere called ‘A Symposium in Space’. Yes, it was a science fiction remake of ‘The Symposium’ in the future, where all the characters were women, and ‘Alkiabiadea’ was a space pirate, chasing the philosopher, ‘Sokrat’, across space. πŸ™‚ This is what happens when ‘The Symposium’ and the opening to ‘Mystery Science Theater 3000’ spend an afternoon in your imagination together. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Hopefully, the story will be accepted and you’ll find out. πŸ™‚ If not, well, I’m going to look for another home for ‘Aissa and Polyxena’. If I can’t find another home, I’ll see if I can self publish it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

